Commission Members

Main Commission
  • Lord Best (Chair)
    Social housing leader and member of the House of Lords.
  • Pam Alexander
    Chair of the Planning Committee and Board member of the London Legacy Development, advisor to One Planet.
  • Prof. David Banister
    Emeritus Professor of Transport Studies at the School of Geography and the Environment (SoGE) and the Transport Studies Unit.
  • Yolande Barnes
    Professor and Chair of Bartlett Real Estate and Director of World Research at Savills.
  • Mel Barrett
    Chief Executive of Nottingham City Council and a member of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors.
  • Lord Karan Bilimoria
    Member of the House of Lords, Founder and Chairman of Cobra Beer and Chairman of the UK India Business Council.
  • Sir David Brown
    Chartered Engineer, Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, and Chair of the Bletchley Park Trust.
  • Joan Clos
    The former Executive Director of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat)
  • Prof. Rachel Cooper
    Professor of Design Management and Policy at Lancaster University, President of the Design Research Society, Fellow of the Academy of Urbanism.
  • Dr. Michael Dixon
    GP and National Clinical Lead for Social Prescription (NHS England), as well as being Chairman of the College of Medicine.
  • Alice Lester
    Brent’s Operational Director for Regeneration, Growth and Employment, having previously been Head of Planning.
  • Dr. Kamal Mahtani
    GP and Associate Professor at the Centre for Evidence Based Medicine.
  • Marvin Rees
    Mayor of Bristol.
International Advisory Board
  • Nigel Crisp (Chair)
    Independent crossbench member of the House of Lords where he co-chairs the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Global Health.
  • Denise Yvonne Aki-Sawyerr OBE
    Mayor of Freetown, Sierra Leone.
  • Bruce Katz
    Director of Finance Lab at Drexel University and former US Secretary of Housing and Urban Development.
  • Dorothy Kisaka
    Ugandan Lawyer and Executive Director at Kampala Capital City Authority.
  • Dr Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka
    UN Under-secretary-General and Executive Director of UN Women, South Africa.
  • La June Montgomery-Tabron
    President and CEO of W.K. Kellogg Foundation.
  • Aromar Revi
    Director of Indian Institute for Human Settlements.
  • Enrique Ruelas
    Prior secretary for General Health Council of Mexico.
  • Tina Saaby
    Chief city architect Copenhagen.
  • Rob Stokes
    New South Wales Minister for Cities, Minister for Infrastructure and Minister for Active Transport.
  • Lan Wang
    Professor of Architecture and Urban planning Tongji University, Shanghai.
Research Group
  • Professor Carl Heneghan
  • Dr David Howard
  • Dr Georgia Richards
  • Dr Juliet Carpenter
  • Robert Weavers (Administrator)
Subgroup A

The Built Environment, Design and Place-making (housing, planning and urban design, regeneration):

  • Professor Rachel Cooper
    (Professor of Design Management and Policy at Lancaster University) (C) (Chair)
  • Pam Alexander
    (Future Cities Catapult; London Legacy Development Corporation) (C)
  • Mel Barrett
    (Chief Executive of Nottingham City Council) (C)
  • Lara Kinneir 
    (Leader / Design Cities, The London School of Architecture)
  • Alice Lester
    (Operational Director, Brent Council (previously Head of Planning)) (C)
  • Gail Mayhew
    (Principal, Smart Growth Associates)
  • Sowmya Parthasarathy
    (Director, Urban Design & Master Planning, Arup)
Subgroup B

Transport and Movement, Infrastructure and Technology (Smart Cities):

  • Professor David Banister
    (Professor of Transport Studies, University of Oxford’s School of Geography; Environment and the Transport Studies Unit) (C) (Chair)
  • Professor Yolande Barnes
    (UCL Bartlett Real Estate Institute) (C)
  • Sir David Brown
    (Chair, The Manufacturing Technology Centre) (C)
  • Lord Karan Bilimoria
    (Chair, Cobra Beer; CBI President) (C)
  • Polly MacKenzie
    (Chief Executive, Demos/Public Participation Lab)
  • Emma Pinchbeck
    (Chief Executive Energy UK)
  • Nicola Yates
    (Chief Executive, Future Cities Catapult)
Subgroup C

Health & Wellbeing (public health, social prescribing, food and exercise, health creation):

  • Dr Michael Dixon 
    (Chair, College of Medicine) (C) (Chair)
  • Dr Catherine Calderwood
    (Centre for Sustainable Delivery; former Chief Medical Officer, Scotland)
  • Dr Joan Clos
    (past Head of UNHabitat and former Mayor of Barcelona) (C)
  • Professor Dame Jane Dacre
    (UCL Medical School, former President of the Royal College of Physicians)
  • Dr Kamal Mahtani
    (GP and Associate Professor at the Centre for Evidence Based Medicine) (C)
  • Marvin Rees
    (Mayor of Bristol) (C)
  • Sally Warren
    (Director of Policy, The King’s Fund)

(C) = Commissioner